The Unwanteds Quests #1: Dragon Captives—Available Now!

Author

McMann2015headshot

Lisa McMann

Lisa McMann lives and writes in Phoenix, Arizona. She’s happily married to her husband Matt and has two awesome kids, Kilian and Kennedy. She’s a native of Holland, Michigan and lived there from her birth on February 27, 1968 until 2004. She then moved to Arizona, where she can admire the desert and the scary mountain lion her daughter spotted in the backyard one time. Lisa likes to unwind by watching HGTV or any cooking show ever. She shares her writing space with two obnoxious yet well-loved cats, and wakes up at 5:30am so she can climb the mountain in the back of her neighborhood before it gets too hot outside. Finally, Lisa would like you to know that she enjoys Mexican food of any variety as well as pistachios, avocados, and bacon.

Where were you born?

I was born in Holland, Michigan, a fine little Dutch-type city on the shore of Lake Michigan. If you hold your right hand in front of your face so you can see your palm, look on the left edge. About halfway between the base of your pinky and your wrist is where Holland is. Michigan rocks.

Do you still live there?

No. I moved to Arizona in 2004 with my husband, Matt, and my two kids, Kilian and Kennedy. No, I am not a snowbird. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

What’s a snowbird?

Snowbird is the term for retired people who spend their winters at Applebee’s® in Arizona.

Isn’t it hot in Arizona?

Yes, in the summer it’s extremely hot unless you’re in the mountains. The first summer we lived here, we totally tried frying an egg on the sidewalk. Basically, it made a mess. We try to go on vacation during the summer to get out of Phoenix, and I usually do a conference or two if it’s in a nice-weather city in order to escape the heat. In the fall, winter and spring, the weather here suits me just fine.

What do your parents do?

My father worked in a factory for 47 years before he retired. My mother is a hairdresser and she used to play the organ at church.

Do you have brothers and sisters?

Yes, I have two older brothers and a younger sister, and my husband Matt has two older sisters. They are all married. I have a bunch of nieces and nephews as well.

What are your hobbies?

I like to cook, swim, read, and hang out with my husband and kids. I also love watching reality TV shows, even the sappy ones that make me cry.

Did you always want to be a writer?

Since 4th grade, yes

When is your birthday?

February 27.

I need more information from you. Can you answer more of my questions by e-mail?

Unfortunately, I’m not able to answer individual questions. However, if you Google a question with my name in it, chances are you’ll stumble upon the answer because I’ve done lots of interviews. Additionally, some incredibly nice people have set up a Wikipedia page about me. There’s some more info there.